Initial Certification

There are two types of initial certification offered: the Associate Emergency Manager (AEM) and the Certified Emergency Manager (CEM). The requirements are thoroughly outlined in the online application and in the Applicant Guidebook.

Remember to fill out the Certification Enrollment form!

Pay Certification Fee

$425 (USD) for IAEM members; $635 (USD) for non-IAEM members (certification fees are non-refundable and non-transferable)

Submit the certification payment now

The certification fee entitles candidates to:

  • Sit for the exam twice (if candidates do not pass the exam on the first attempt).
  • Review of their certification credential application by the CEM Commission twice.

Candidates who do not pass the exam on the second attempt or receive notification that their credential application has been rejected must pay the certification fee again and start the process from the beginning. 

Keep in mind that your certification application fee must be posted to your record prior to submitting your certification application. Payments made online are batched and posted on the next business day, so plan accordingly.

Complete Certification Application

Access the certification online application 

The certification application is where candidates upload all application requirements. Before candidates submit their AEM/CEM credential application, it is recommended that candidates review the Resources material and CEM News available on the website for updated requirements and/or changes to the process.

Presentation of Diplomas

Click here for more information about Applicants who want to receive their diplomas at the Annual Conference Awards Banquet.