IAEM-USA Outreach

IAEM-USA Outreach

Alphabetical Index by Name of Organization

Members may obtain contact information for outreach liaisons by downloading the IAEM-USA Outreach Directory.

American College of Medical Toxicologists (ACMT)

  • Mass Decon Project
    Patrick Meyer
    DHS has contracted with ACMT to help produce standards based on a 2011 guidelines document. IAEM serves on the project work group with other organizational representatives.

American Meteorological Society

  • AMS Emergency Management Subcommittee
    Robert Goldhammer, CEM

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO)

  • National Alliance for Radiation Readiness (NARR)
    Bill Pook, MEP
    Elizabeth Armstrong, MAM, CAE
    IAEM-USA is a member of the National Alliance for Radiation Readiness (NARR), created in 2011. NARR seeks to build radiological emergency preparedness, response and recovery capacity and capabilities and to serve as the collective “voice of health” in radiological preparedness. In addition to IAEM-USA, NARR is comprised of members from National Association of State EMS Officials (NASEMSO), Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO), National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO), Conference of Radiation Control Program Directors (CRCPD), Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists (CSTE), Association of Public Health Laboratories (APHL), National Emergency Management Association (NEMA), and American Medical Association (AMA).

Department of Agriculture

  • HSPD 9 Liaison
    Dr. Michael J. Fagel, CEM

Department of Homeland Security

  • DHS Emergency Service Sector Coordinating Committee
    Erik Gaull
    Clay Tyeryar, MAM, CAE (Staff Appointee)
  • Science & Technology First Responder Resource Group (FRRG)
    Jeff Rubin, PhD, CEM
  • Science & Technology Information Directorate Working Group
    Tim Padgett

Department of Transportation

  • Transportation Safety Advancement Group (TSAG)
    Rick Comerford, CEM

Disaster Resource Guide

  • Disaster Resource Guide Advisory Board
    Elizabeth Armstrong, MAM, CAE (Staff Appointee)

Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP)

  • EMAP Commission
    Judd Freed, CEM (2017-2020, NACo)
    Nick Crossley, CEM (2017-2020)
    Robie Robinson, CEM (2019-2021)
    Ryan Turner (2019-2021)
    Natalie Gutierrez (2019-2021)

Federal Emergency Management Agency

  • Emergency Management Institute (EMI)
    Emily Martuscello, CEM
  • National Youth Preparedness Affirmers Group
    Chelsea Firth (Staff Appointee)

Federal Emergency Management Agency & The Smithsonian Institute

  • Heritage Emergency National Task Force (HENTF)
    John Conklin, CEM

Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC)

  • Address Theme Subcommittee
    Pascal Schuback

First Responder Network Authority (FirstNet)

  • FirstNet Public Safety Advisory Committee (PSAC)
  • FirstNet Tribal Working Group
    Raymond Kennedy

HERicane Arlington

  • Advisory Board
    Carrie Speranza, CEM

National Association of Counties (NACo)

  • NACo Board of Directors Representative
    Nick Crossley, CEM 
    Judd Freed, CEM

  • NACo Homeland Security and Emergency Management Subcommittee
    Roy E. Waite, Jr., CEM

  • NACo Justice and Public Safety Committee
    Roy E. Waite, Jr., CEM

National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO)

  • NACCHO Radiation Workgroup
    Bill Pook, MEP

National Center for Security & Preparedness, University of Albany
Dr. Michael J. Fagel, CEM

National Domestic Preparedness Consortium
Dr. Michael J. Fagel, CEM

National Emergency Management Association

  • NEMA Advisory Board for the Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC) Working Group
    Lanita Lloyd, CEM

National Homeland Security Consortium
Elizabeth Armstrong, MAM, CAE (Staff Appointee)
Eddie Hicks, CEM

  • Private Sector Info Sharing Project
    Eric Kant

National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)

  • NFPA 1600 Standard on Disaster/Emergency Management and Business
    Carrie Little, CEM
    Chandra Fox, CEM (Alternate)
  • NFPA 1616 Technical Committee on Mass Evacuation and Sheltering
    Bill Lent, CEM
    Paul Johnson (Alternate)
  • NFPA 3000 Technical Committee
    Dennis Jones
    John Walsh (Alternate)

National Geospatial Preparedness Summit (NGPS)

  • NGPS Steering Committee
    Alan Stensland

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Office of EMS (NHTSA)

  • EMS Agenda 2050 Organizational Liaison
    John Walsh

National Homeland Security Preparedness Index (NHSPITM)
The National Homeland Security Preparedness Index (NHSPI™) examines the health security preparedness of the nation by looking collectively at the health security preparedness of states. The Index results are updated annually. The NHSPI™ applies the National Health Security Strategy definition of national health security: the state in which the nation and its people are prepared for, protected from, and resilient in the face of health threats or incidents with potentially negative health consequences. Administered by the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO), in partnership with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the development of the NHSPI™ has been and continues to be a transparent process that includes continuous improvement, stakeholder involvement, and real-world experience.

  • NHSPI Analytic Methodology & Model Design Workgroup
    Eric Sutton, MS, CEM

National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

  • National Weather Service
    Eddie Hicks, CEM
  • National Weather Service Storm Ready Advisory Board Liaisons
    Robert Goldhammer, CEM
    Carolyn Harshman, CEM

National Public Safety Telecommunications Council (NPSTC)

  • NPSTC Governing Board
    Rick Comerford, CEM

National Safety Council (NSC)

  • NSC Emergency Communications Panel
    Dr. Michael J. Fagel, CEM

National Science Foundation

  • Interdisciplinary Disaster Research Workshop
    John Walsh

National Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster (NVOAD)

  • Volunteer Management Committee
    Lanita Lloyd, CEM

Paradigm Liaison Services

  • Paradigm Liaison Services Advisory Board
    Jeffrey Robinson, CEM
    Marty Shaub, CEM

Rural Domestic Preparedness Consortium

  • Rural Domestic Preparedness Consortium Advisory Board


  • SAFECOM Technology Committee
    Rick Comerford, CEM

U.S. Congress

  • Congressional Hazards Caucus Alliance
    Thad Huguley (Staff Appointee)

World Disaster Management

  • VDEM Drone Initiative
    Kay Goss, CEM