2019 IAEM Awards Competition

Purpose of the IAEM Awards Competition

To recognize and honor persons and organizations who have made special or significant contributions to the field of emergency management and have represented the profession well by their outstanding performance.

2019 IAEM Awards Competition Results

The 2019 IAEM Awards Competition entry period ended on June 18, 2019. The IAEM Awards & Recognition Committee, as well as additional IAEM member judges who served on the judging panels, reviewed all of the entries. All entrants have been informed of the results, which are now listed below.

  • Award presentations will take place at the IAEM Annual Conference, on Monday, Nov. 18, 2019, during the Opening Ceremonies. 
  • The IAEM Awards & Recognition Committee also will host a breakout session, during which attendees will get a chance to hear about the winning entries. The breakout session is at 11:15 a.m.-12:15 a.m. on Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2019.
  • The Clayton R. Christopher Memorial Award winner will not be announced until the conference. It will be presented during the banquet on Wednesday evening, Nov. 20, 2019.

Global Award Categories

  • Partners in Preparedness
    • IAEM-Global Partners in Preparedness Award and IAEM-Oceania Partners in Preparedness Award: Emergency Management Bay of Plenty (EMBOP), the Bay of Plenty Regional Council (BOPRC) and Bay of Plenty Schools for the Civil Defence Youth Ambassador Programme.
    • IAEM-USA Partners in Preparedness AwardLittle Company of Mary Med Center and Henry Mayo Newhall Hospital, for the 15 Til 50 Mass Casualty Incident Response Program.
    • IAEM-Canada Partners in Preparedness Award: The Multijurisdictional Pipeline Response Framework Committee (CRIP), for its innovative EM public-private partnership aimed at concretely improving the response coordination of the partners that could be involved in a pipeline incident, whatever their jurisdiction, resources and EM response system.
    • IAEM-Asia Partners in Preparedness Award: Guangdong Provincial Center for Disease Control and Prevention, for its Zika Epidemic Emergency Management Program (ZEEMP).
  • Public Awareness

    • IAEM-USA Public Awareness Award: The City of Hendersonville (Nevada) Office of Emergency Management, for its Captain Kit and the Ready Crew Program.
    • IAEM-USA Certificate of Recognition for Public Awareness: North Carolina State University, for its Are You PACK-Ready Campaign – Comprehensive Personal Preparedness.
    • IAEM-USA Certificate of Recognition for Public Awareness: Washoe County Emergency Management & Homeland Security, for its Multi-language Preparedness Project.

  • Business & Industry Preparedness
    • IAEM-USA Business & Industry Preparedness Award: ESPN Emergency Response Team, for the ESPN Emergency Responder Program, an initiative that utilizes its employee base for assistance in responding to many different emergency situations and scenarios.
    • IAEM-Canada Business & Industry Preparedness Award: Toronto Hydro Grid Emergency Management, for its Disaster Preparedness Program, which implements a robust and comprehensive disaster preparedness framework.
    • IAEM-International Business & Industry Preparedness Award: King Faisal Specialist Hospital & Research Centre, for becoming the first hospital in the world and the first organization in the Middle East to achieve accreditation through the Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP).

USA Council Award Categories

    IAEM-USA Clayton R. Christopher Memorial AwardMichael Stever, CEM, in recognition of his unselfish devotion and outstanding contributions to the overall emergency management program. IAEM-USA presents this award annually in honor of Clayton R. Christopher, whose principles of integrity and leadership served as a guiding force to the institution of emergency management and formed a strong foundation for its future.

    IAEM-USA Career Excellence Award: Judy Harmon, CEM, for her career-long selfless contributions to the emergency management field and to IAEM, most recently including her leadership throughout an IAEM-USA Training & Education Committee project to bridge the gap between emergency management research and practitioners that has delivered tangible results over the last two years. 

      IAEM-USA Uniformed Services Awards:
      2019 Military Uniformed Services Emergency Manager of the YearCWO Christopher D. Johnston, U.S. Coast Guard.
      2019 Civilian Uniformed Services Emergency Manager of the YearEdward Primeau, U.S. Coast Guard.
      2019 Uniformed Services Auxiliary Member of the YearLieutenant Colonel Richard E. Fawcett, Civil Air Patrol

      EM Volunteer Awards:
      2019 IAEM-USA Volunteer of the Year: Barbara Moore,  Wasatch County Medical Reserve Corps.
      2019 IAEM-USA Voluntary Organization of the YearTeam Rubicon.

      Student Awards:
      IAEM-USA Student Ally Award: Michael Penaluna, Emergency Management Coordinator, City of Denton, Texas.
      IAEM-USA Student Chapter of the Year Award: Jacksonville State University IAEM Student Chapter, Jacksonville, Alabama. 

    2020 IAEM Awards Competition

    The next IAEM Awards Competition will begin in Spring 2020 with a call for entries. IAEM members will receive an emailed notice of the call for entries, and it will be published in the IAEM Bulletin and on this web page. The competition is also promoted through press releases and social media. Non-members should check back on this page in the spring for details about the 2020 competition, or subscribe to the IAEM Dispatch weekly e-newsletter for the most recent IAEM news.