IAEM-Canada Ontario Region

Sonia Singh

Vice President
Katherine Chapman

Alison Kingelin 
Karen Charles, CEM



About the IAEM-Canada Ontario Region

The IAEM-Ontario Region includes IAEM members living in the province of Ontario.

Ontario Region News

IAEM-Canada Ontario Region Call for Nominations:

An email was sent to all Ontario Region voting members on July 24, 2019, announcing a call for nominations for Ontario Region President. The nomination period is open until Aug. 23, 2019, 5:00 p.m. EDT. The Regional President of Ontario Region has resigned, and eligible members interested in serving the region as its president are invited to run for office in this call for nominations.

Call for Nominations for the Following Officer Position

  • President: This is a one-year term commencing immediately following the election. IAEM-Canada Ontario Region President shall represent IAEM-Canada Ontario Region at IAEM-Canada Council meetings in a leadership capacity that best advances the interest of IAEM-Canada Ontario Region and its membership. Among the President’s duties are representing IAEM-Canada Ontario Region at various functions and with other organizations; chairing meetings of IAEM-Canada Ontario Region; authorizing expenditures within budget appropriations approved by the Board of Directors; and performing such other duties as required and provided for in the Administrative Policies and Procedures. The time commitment for this position is approximately 4 hrs/month.

Note: Only IAEM-Canada Ontario Region Individual members can run for office, and only IAEM-Canada Individual, Affiliate and Lifetime members living the province of Ontario can vote in this election.

Candidate Eligibility
In order to be placed on the ballot for election to an office, the candidate must submit the following to Karen Thompson, IAEM elections facilitator, no later than Friday, Aug. 23, 2019, at 5:00 p.m. EDT:

  1. A letter stating candidacy;
  2. A letter/email from the candidate's immediate supervisor supporting the time and travel necessary to satisfactorily fulfil the requirements of the office;
  3. A brief resume; and
  4. Meet the requirements in Bylaws Section 11.

Nomination Process

All nominations material must be received no later than 5:00 p.m. EDT, Friday, Aug. 23, 2019, via email to Karen Thompson, IAEM elections facilitator. Online voting will begin on Monday, Sept. 2, 2019 at 9:00 am EDT, and will close on Monday, Sept. 16, 2019, at 5:00 p.m. EDT. Election results will be announced via email to IAEM-Canada Ontario members.

When submitting a nomination, the submission must include complete contact information, including mailing address, phone number, and email address. Personal contact information is required for election records but will not be disclosed to the electorate. IAEM will only list your email address with your candidate statement.

Nominees must submit a biography that outlines the candidates’ experience, background, and qualifications that are relevant to the position(s) sought. Nominees may submit a recent photograph to accompany their biography.

Additionally, nominees may submit an optional candidates’ statement that outlines why the electorate should consider your nomination and what you’d like to accomplish during your term in office. The candidates’ statement should be submitted in Word format and should be limited to no more than 400 words.

Campaign Rules

Nominees are to adhere to the campaign rules outlined in Chapter 6, Section V of the IAEM Canada Administrative Policies and Procedures Manual (APP).

  • New IAEM-Canada Ontario Region Held Election of Officers (18 Feb 2019) A total of 46 IAEM-Canada Individual, Affiliate, and Lifetime members, residing in Ontario province, voted in the 2019 IAEM-Canada Ontario Region officers’ election. The winning candidates are: Sonia Singh, President; Katherine Chapman, Vice President; Alison Kingelin, Secretary; and Karen Charles, CEM, Treasurer. They are the first officers of the new Ontario Region.