Scholarship Recipients

2020-2021 Scholarship Awardees

The IAEM Scholarship Commission awarded scholarships to four students in emergency management, disaster management and related programs for the 2020-2021 school year. Congratulations to this year’s IAEM Scholarship recipients.

2020-2021 Scholarship Recipient Profiles

  • Zeina Abouelazm, the fourth awardee of the Robert C. Bohlmann, CEM, Scholarship for Service in Emergency Management, is working on duel B.S. degrees in Emergency Management and Management Communication at North Dakota State University. She is planning to graduate in 2021. She has served as an American Red Cross volunteer working as a disaster cycles caseworker and as is the current president of the American Red Cross Club on the NDSU campus. When COVID-19 hit the United States this year, Zeina joined Epicenter Innovation as an intern and supported numerous projects. She also interned for the North Dakota Division of Homeland Security supporting preparedness and mitigation planning, and the state’s COVID-19 response. Zeina was awarded a $4,000 IAEM Scholarship.
  • Roni Fraser is working toward a Ph.D. in Sociology at the University of Delaware. She is an affiliate of the Disaster Research Center, one of the nation’s leading centers on social and management aspects of disasters. As an undergraduate at the University of North Texas, Roni held internships with such organizations as the South-Central Climate Adaptation Science Center, the City of Coppell Fire Department, and even with the Office of Security and Emergency Preparedness in the Executive Office of the United States President. As a graduate student she has completed an environmental and historic preservation internship with FEMA Region VI, and a data analysis internship with the National Highway and Traffic Safety Administration. Roni was awarded a $4,000 IAEM Scholarship.
  • Ana Jimenez plans to complete her Master’s in Emergency Services Administration at California State University at Long Beach in December 2021. She is the third awardee of the Samuel Henry Prince IAEM Scholarship funded by IAEM-Canada. Shannon is a community services coordinator for the Long Beach Fire Department where she is an instructor for the Long Beach CERT program, manages the fire department volunteer programs, and is responsible for the department’s public information efforts, including social media and websites. Ana coordinated READY Long Beach, and award-winning emergency preparedness expo. She received a $2,000 IAEM Scholarship.

Previous IAEM Scholarship Recipients

Download a chart of past recipients of IAEM Scholarships.

CEM® and AEM® are registered trademarks of the International Association of Emergency Managers.