USA Council Region 1

NOTE: IAEM member privacy is an IAEM priority. Members may use the IAEM Directory to access regional officer phone numbers and addresses. Search now.

Andrew D. McGuire, CEM, EMT-P
IAEM-USA Region 1 President

Fire & Emergency Management Consultant
RPA a Jensen Hughes Company
Plaineville, CT

Justin Kates, CEM
IAEM-USA Region 1 Vice President

Director of Emergency Management
City of Nashua, NH

Katherine McCormack, RN, MPH, MEP
IAEM-USA Region 1 Secretary-Treasurer
Region 1 Connecticut Representative
Public Health/Public Safety Consultant
Adjunct Professor
University of New Haven
Hartford, CT

Steven Taddonio, CBCI
Region 1 Communications Officer

Emergency Management Specialist
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cambridge, MA 

Israel Estrada
Region 1 Assistant Communications Officer 

Emergency Preparedness Specialist Yale-New Haven Health
Office of Emergency Preparedness 
New Haven, CT 

Joseph C. Chappell

Region 1 Maine Representative
Emergency Management Director
Cumberland County Emergency Management Agency
Windham, ME

Taylor Frizzell
Region 1 Massachusetts Representative

Business Continuity - Global Markets
State Street Corporation
Boston, MA

Samantha Ward
Region 1 New Hampshire Representative

Radiological Emergency Preparedness (REP) Coordinator
NH Department of Health and Human Services, Emergency Services Unit
Concord, NH

Kevin Kugel, CEM
Region 1 Rhode Island Representative
Director, Emergency Management Agency
City of Providence, RI

Jason E. Gosselin
Region 1 Vermont Representative

Emergency Management Director
Vermont Agency of Human Services
Waterbury, VT

Brenna Feurtado
IAEM-USA Region 1 Student Representative
MMA Student Chapter President
Bachelors of Science candidate in Emergency Management
Massachusetts Maritime Academy
Buzzards Bay, MA 

Region 1 includes
: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont.

Region 1 Bylaws (approved Oct. 14, 2015)

Dec. 12-13, 2019
IAEM-USA Region 1 Conference:"Institutional & Government Emergency Managers Working Together to Build Community Resilience"

Meeting Location: University of Connecticut, Storrs, CT

details here

  • Dec. 12, 2019: Networking Day
  • Dec. 13, 2019: Conference
  • Dec. 14, 2019: Certification Prep Course & Exam

Members Only: Training OpportunitiesConference Livestream Recordings

Region 1 News:

  • IAEM-USA Region 1 sets webinar for June 25, 2019 (07 June 2019) IAEM-USA Region 1 will hold a webinar on June 25, 2019, 2:00-3:00 p.m. EDT, on "The Team Rubicon Response to the 2018 Aquidneck Island Gas Outage." Team Rubicon's Region 1 State Administrator for Rhode Island and Connecticut, Margaret Cullather, will be the speaker. This is the latest in a series of webinars presented by Region 1. Register online at no charge.
  • Call for Officer Nominations for IAEM-USA Region 1 (03 June 2019) IAEM-USA Region 1 will be holding elections for Regional Vice President and Secretary-Treasurer. Download the Region 1 call for nominations here. The nominations deadline is July 3, 2019, 5:00 p.m. EDT. Questions should be addressed to Karen Thompson, IAEM staff elections liaison, Thompson@iaem.com.
  • IAEM-USA Region 1 Conference News (08 June 2019) Save the date for the 2019 IAEM Region 1 Conference at University of Connecticut on Dec. 13, 2019. A pre-conference training session and a networking social to be held on Dec. 12, and possibly an offering of the AEM/CEM Prep Course/Exam on Dec. 14. More information will be provided soon! 
  • IAEM-USA Region 1 News Archive, 2011-2018 

2019 Area Conferences of Interest:

  • Maine: Maine Partners in Emergency Preparedness Conference - Apr. 23, 2019
  • Connecticut: Connecticut Emergency Management Symposium - Apr. 25, 2019
  • New Hampshire: New Hampshire Emergency Preparedness Conference - June 4, 2019
  • Massachusetts: Massachusetts All-Hazards Emergency Management Conference - June 18-19, 2019
  • Rhode Island: Rhode Island Preparedness Conference - June 20, 2019
  • Vermont: Vermont Emergency Preparedness Conference - Sept. 6-7, 2019

Region 1 Past Presidents

  • 2013-2017: Christian Lanphere, CEM
  • 2011-2013: Paul B. Crawford, CEM
  • 2007-2011: Bruce Lockwood, CEM
  • 2001-2007: Pamela L’Heureux, CEM
  • 1999-2001: Leo Miller
  • 1996-1999: Robert C. Bohlmann, CEM
  • 1991-1996: Joe Carnevale Jr.
  • 1989-1991: William Magill
  • 1988-1989: Donald McCauley
  • 1985-1988: John Smedile