Scholarship Commission

Note: IAEM values member privacy. Members may use the IAEM Membership Directory to access member phone numbers and addresses. Search now. Inquiries about the Scholarship Program may be directed to IAEM staff at shiley@iaem.com.


William Hurtes, Ph.D., CEM (Member-at-Large)

Owner, HTC International

Vice Chair

George Nunez
(Donor Representative)
Director, Office of Emergency Management, Baylor University

Terms Ending 2023

Savannah Baker
(Past Scholarship Recipient)
University of South Carolina

Michael Buchanan
(Uniformed Services/Military Representative)
First Class Petty Officer, United States Coast Guard

Michael Byrne
(Private Sector Industry Representative)
GPS Advisory Specialist Executive, Deloitte & Touche

Vincent B. Davis, CEM
(INGO, including VOAD and Faith-based Organizations, Representative)
Disaster Services Director, Feeding America

George Nunez
(Donor Representative)
Director, Office of Emergency Management, Baylor University

Feranmi Olowe
(Student Representative)
University of Munster

Courtney Ring, MPA, CEM
(IAEM-USA Council Representative)
Witt O’Brien’s

Barbara Russo, Ph.D., CEM
(Academic Representative)
Assistant Professor of Public Safety, University of West Alabama, and Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice, Brevard College


Terms Ending 2022

Stephanie Deriso
(Student Representative)
Georgetown University

Kristin Hoskin, CEM
(IAEM-Oceania Council Representative)
Crisis & EM Director, Red Iguana, Ltd.

Bobbi Geery, CEM
(INGO, including VOAD and Faith-based Organizations, Representative)
Emergency Disaster Services Territorial Training Coordinator, The Salvation Army Southern Territory

George Karagiannis, Ph.D., CEM
(Member-at-Large, Global)
Deputy Secretary-General for Civil Protection, Greece

Rocky Lopes, Ph.D.
(Donor Representative)
Retired, Emergency Management and Safety in the Public Sector

David Miller, CEM
(Healthcare/Public Health Representative)
Executive Director, healthcare System Readiness, NYC Dept. of Health and Mental Hygiene

Jae G. Park, Ph.D., CFM
(Private Sector Industry Representative)
Associate Vice President, Risk Management & Resilience, AECOM

Mary Schoenfeldt, Ph.D.
(Academic Representative)
Faculty Member, Pierce College

Terms Ending 2021

Mary Harron, MPA
(IAEM-Canada Representative)
Manager, Strategic Continuous Improvement, and Manager, Disaster Recovery Program Interpretation, Alberta Emergency Management

Renata Hawks
(Founders Representative)

William Hurtes, Ph.D., CEM
(Donor Representative)
Owner, HTC International

Misti Kill, Ph.D.
(Academia Representative)
Dean & Assistant Provost, College of Safety and Emergency, Columbia Southern University

Allison Knox, Ph.D.
(Student Representative)
American Military University

Anthony Mangeri, CEM
(IAEM-USA Board Representative)
Chief Operating Officer, Mangeri Group, LLC

Robert Morford, MI-PEM, CEM
(Federal/State Level Representative)
Manager of Emergency Management Services, Chicago Department of Aviation

Jenny Novak, MEP, CEM
(Member-at-Large, USA)
Director, Systemwide Emergency Management & Continuity, California State University

Clinton Naude, CEM
(IAEM-Global Board Representative)
Director, Emergency Management, Bay of Plenty

Brian Veach, CEM
(Private Sector Industry Representative)
Emergency Preparedness Specialist, CNS Pantex

Ex-Officio Member

Dawn M. Shiley
IAEM Scholarship Program Director
(703) 538-3542, dawn@iaem.com

Board Liaison

Anthony S. Mangeri, CEM


AEM® and CEM® are registered trademarks of the International Association of Emergency Managers.