IAEM-USA EM Volunteer Awards 2019

back to IAEM-USA Awards page 

The IAEM-USA Emergency Management Volunteer Awards

The IAEM-USA Emergency Management Volunteer Awards recognize the contributions of volunteers who assist emergency managers in the United States.

Volunteerism in emergency management has always been part of the framework and fabric for the successful employment of integrated emergency management across the nation. Thousands of volunteer hours are provided annually to assist emergency managers across the spectrum of the emergency management mission areas. Without the support of volunteers, the field of emergency management would not be as capable and responsive as it is today.

2019 Awards Guidelines

Award Descriptions and Eligibility Criteria

IAEM-USA Emergency Management Volunteer of the Year Award

  • This award will recognize the services of a single individual who made extraordinary emergency management volunteer contributions during the 2017 calendar year.
  • The nomination must be for an individual who participates as an active volunteer within a recognized emergency management voluntary organization.
  • The individual recognized should have demonstrated exceptional contributions across the full spectrum of emergency management.

IAEM-USA Emergency Management Voluntary Organization of the Year

  • This award will recognize the services of a U.S. voluntary organization that made extraordinary emergency management contributions during the 2018 calendar year.
  • The voluntary organization must be recognized by IAEM and or FEMA as an emergency management organization (MOU, other acknowledgements) and/or be listed as a national member on the National Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster (NVOAD) website.  

Awards Announcement and Presentation

The winners of the 2019 IAEM-USA Emergency Management Awards are announced by the IAEM-USA Awards & Recognition Committee. Award presentations will take place at the IAEM 2019 Annual Conference, Savannah, Georgia, USA.