IAEM-USA Editorial Committee

IAEM Editorial Committee Chair
Past IAEM President (2003-2004)
Daryl Lee Spiewak, CEM, TEM
President, DLS Consulting
Woodway, TX


IAEM-USA Board Liaison
Carrie Speranza, CEM

IAEM Bulletin Editor & Staff Liaison
Karen Thompson 


IAEM members interested in participating in this committee should email the committee leadership and tell them how you can contribute to or learn from this committee’s important work. IAEM members may easily retrieve the committee leadership email addresses by downloading the complete list.

Editorial Committee Mission

The IAEM Editorial Committee assists the IAEM Bulletin Editor in identifying articles and special focus issues. At the beginning of 2020, the IAEM Bulletin began its 37th year of publication as the official IAEM monthly newsletter. Members of the committee recruit subject matter experts to author articles and function as liaisons to the Board of Directors on communications issues. The work group created and maintains the online searchable collection of EM Practitioner Articles.

Current Activities

  • Special Focus Issue Topics. The committee sends its recommended topics to the Board each year for review/approval. The special focus topics will be posted soon on the IAEM Bulletin home page.
  • The IAEM Bulletin. In 2014, the IAEM Bulletin became a monthly online publication available to members only in the IAEM Bulletin Archives. Longer feature articles are now accepted, up to 1,500 words. The Author's Guidelines are available here. Prospective members and other visitors to the IAEM website are invited to view and/or download sample issues at the top of the IAEM Bulletin home page.


AEM® and CEM® are registered trademarks of the International Association of Emergency Managers.