CEM Executive Committee

Composition of the Certification Executive Committee

The Certification Executive Committee provides management and oversight of the Certification Commission, and reports to the IAEM-USA Board of Directors. It is composed of a chair, two vice chairs and two at-large members. These seats are annual terms. The Certification Commission as a whole nominates the chair and two at-large members. One vice chair is nominated by the USA, Canadian, Latin American, and International Commissioners, and the other vice chair is nominated by the Asian, Oceania, and European Commissioners. All Certification Executive Committee members must hold a current CEM certification.

(as of Jan. 1, 2024)


Jon Fessler, CEM Vice President of Environmental Health and Safety Fox Corporation Simi Valley, CA (completing term 12/31/24)

Vice Chair

USA/Canada/Africa/International/Latin America and Caribbean/Middle East/:
Michelle Oblinsky, CEM
VEST Director
Virginia Department of Emergency Management
North Chesterfield, VA
(completing term 12/31/24)

Christopher Ainsworth, CEM, MBA
Executive Officer - Principal Emergency Management - Business Continuity
'raemec' austraia / KP3 Collaboration
Blackwood, SA, Australia 
(completing term 12/31/24)


Ross Patterson, CEM
Emergency Management Coordinator
Winston Salem/Forsyth County Emergency Management
Winston Salem, NC
(completing term 12/31/25)

Heather Long, CEM Area Emergency Manager Veteran’s Health Administration Pittsburgh, PA (completing term 12/31/24)


Board Liaison
Valerie Lucus-McEwen

IAEM-USA Region 8 President
California State University

Staff Liaison
Kate McClimans

Program Manager
International Association of Emergency Managers
201 Park Washington Court
Falls Church, VA 22046-4527
(703) 538-1795

IAEM® and CEM® are registered trademarks of the International Association of Emergency Managers.