IAEM-USA National Security Awards

back to main IAEM Awards page

The IAEM-USA National Security Award is the highest honor bestowed by IAEM upon a citizen of the United States, who through unselfish and dedicated leadership has significantly contributed to the furtherance of a strong civil defense program as a part of our national security. The IAEM-USA Board of Directors give this award at their discretion; it is not part of the IAEM Awards Competition.

In Memoriam: President George H.W. Bush (1924-2018) 
In 1993, IAEM recognized President George H. W. Bush with the IAEM-USA National Security Award, for his dedication to national security by resolutely sustaining policies leading to the end of the Cold War era. He served the United States as its 41st President from 1989 to 1993. In the photo, IAEM President John K. Schroeder (left) presented the award to President Bush at his home in Kennebunkport, Maine. We join others who are extending condolences to the entire Bush family. President Bush’s life of service is an example to us all.

1969 Representative Chet Holifield, CA
1970 Sen. John O. Pastore, RI
1971 Rep. Edward Herbert, LA
1972 Rep. Tom Steed, OK
1973 Rep. Bob Wilson, CA
1974 Sen. John C. Stennis, MS
1975 Sen. Hubert H. Humphrey, MN
1976 Sen. Howard H. Baker, TN
1977 Rep. Jack Brinkley, GA
1978 Rep. William Whitehurst, VA
1979 Rep. Donald Mitchell, NY
1980 Rep. Ike Skelton, MO
1981 Sen. Harrison H. Schmitt, NM
1982 Sen. Strom Thurmond, SC
1983 President Ronald W. Reagan
1984 Dr. Edward Teller, CA
1986 Dr. Max Klinghoffer, FL
1987 Rep. Tom Ridge, PA
1988 Gen. Julius Becton, Jr., FEMA
1989 Marilyn Quayle, Washington, DC
1991 Grant Peterson, FEMA
1992 President George H.W. Bush
2002 Gov. Tom Ridge, Washington, DC
2008 R. David Paulison, FEMA Administrator
2016 W. Craig Fugate, FEMA Administrator