USA Student Region

IAEM-USA Student Region President
Charles Palocy
Master’s Candidate in Homeland Security with a concentration in
EM and Public Health
American Military University
Navarre, Florida
First Vice President
Steven Melton
Master's Candidate in Fire and Emergency Management Administration
Oklahoma State University
Guthrie, Oklahoma
Second Vice President
James Garlits
Master's Candidate in Emergency and Disaster Management
American Military University
Charles Town, West Virginia
Kyle Pajarito
Master’s Candidate in Emergency Services Administration
California State University – Long Beach
Morgantown, West Virginia

Dalton Wood
Student in the Emergency Management Program
University of North Texas
Denton, Texas

Immediate Past President
George Navarini, MA, CEM, MPCP
Doctoral Student and Researcher - Oklahoma State University

IAEM-USA Student Region Documents

IAEM-USA Student Chapters

IAEM-USA Student Region News

  • IAEM Student Member Annual Conference Registration Fee Stipend (08 May 2018) IAEM Headquarters is maintaining a list of IAEM members who have a current student membership and wish to be considered for a student registration fee stipend in the amount of $310 (early bird rate) which can be used towards either the registration fee or to help support travel expenses to attend the IAEM 2018 Annual Conference in Grand Rapids, Michigan. Students should e-mail their interest to be considered for the registration fee stipend lottery to IAEM Membership Manager Sharon Kelly at info@iaem.com no later than Monday, Aug. 20, 2018, along with the following information:

    • Your name.
    • Your complete contact information.
    • The university you are attending.

Notifications will be sent via email by Aug. 27, 2018. If selected, in order to claim the stipend, you will be required to do the following:

1) Complete an online registration form and obtain a registration number no later than Sept. 14, 2018. In the payment section please select “pay by check” and then complete the registration process. If selected the funds will be posted to your registration once the conference has concluded. You can pay for any additional registration fees once the payment has been posted to your record. You will receive an email letting you know how much you owe if you have a remaining balance due.

2) Notify IAEM headquarters by email that you will accept the stipend by Sept. 17, 2018. Your acceptance must include your conference registration number and proof of registration for the Fall 2018 semester (or equivalent) at your University. This can be a copy of your class schedule, university proof of enrollment, etc.

3) Participate in a group picture during the Annual Conference (date, time and location to be determined). You will receive from IAEM HQ a reimbursement form to complete and return to IAEM staff for processing.

4) Attend the Student Council Meeting at the Annual Conference (see conference program for details).

Reminder: IAEM student members can sign up as conference staff during the online registration process to help work off / reduce your registration fee. This is a great opportunity to get involved, support the overall mission of the conference, all while networking with other emergency management professionals. Conference staff will receive a $25 registration fee discount for each hour worked. You will not be compensated for any hours worked that exceed the value of the registration fee, nor will you be compensated if you are unable to work the hours assigned to you.

  • FEMA Seeks U.S. Student Applicants for Summer 2017 Internships (25 Jan 2017) The Federal Emergency Management Agency is seeking U.S. students for paid, summer internships in the fields of emergency management, human resources, administration, financial management, and law. FEMA’s mission is to support U.S. citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve the nation's capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards. FEMA fosters innovation and rewards performance and creativity. Join the team, and use your talent to support Americans in their times of greatest need. Visit the links above to learn more about each position and to apply. Complete the application process, and submit any required documents by Jan. 31, 27, 11:59 p.m. EST. If you have any questions or want more information, please contact FEMA-PATHWAYS@fema.dhs.gov.
  • Results of IAEM-USA Student Region Officers Election (30 Sept 2016) George Navarini, MA, CEM, FPEM, MPCP, was re-elected as IAEM-USA Student Region President. Richard Hildreth, AEM, MEP, was elected as IAEM-USA Student Region First Vice President; Charles Palocy was elected as IAEM-USA Student Region Second Vice President; and Bohdana Sardak was elected as IAEM-USA Student Region Secretary. There were no candidates for the office of Treasurer, so a special election will be held to fill that position.
  • Results of IAEM-USA Student Region Officers Election (12 Oct 2015) George Navarini, CEM, FPEM, MPCP, has been elected IAEM-USA Student Region President. Robert J. Marquez Jr., USMC Retired, has been elected IAEM-USA Student Region Vice President, and Charlie Whorton has been elected IAEM-USA Student Region Secretary. The new IAEM-USA Student Region officers will officially take take office beginning Thursday, Nov. 19, 2015. George Navarini, Student Region President-Elect, will be sworn in on Wednesday, Nov. 18th, 2015, at the IAEM Annual Conference.

AEM® and CEM® are registered trademarks of the International Association of Emergency Managers.